blackbirdonline journalSpring 2011  Vol. 10  No. 1
Victor Lodato

   from Mathilda Savitch

   A Reading by Victor Lodato  audio
   First Novelist Reading Loop  audio

   from “Dear Sarah Jane”

Victor Lodato’s first novel, Mathilda Savitch, was published by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux in 2009. He is also the author of thirteen plays, including Motherhouse (Samuel French, 2010), for which Lodato received the 2002 Weissberger Award, and "Dear Sara Jane," which was anthologized in The Backstage Book of New American Short Plays 2004 (Back Stage). His writing appears in North American Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Southern Review, and Northwest Review. Lodato is a Guggenheim fellow and recipient of the Helen Merrill Award, the John Golden Prize, Julie Harris Playwriting Award, as well as fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Princess Grace Foundation, The Robert Chesley Foundation, The Camargo Foundation (France), and The Bogliasco Foundation (Italy).  end