blackbirdonline journalSpring 2014  Vol. 13  No. 1
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Index / Archives

Bookmark and Share Share

A joint venture of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University and New Virginia Review, Inc.

Copyright © 2014 by Blackbird and the individual writers and artists

ISSN 1540-3068


Virginia Commission for the Arts

Culture Works


Recent Awards for Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Jake Adam York has posthumously been named a Witter Bynner Fellow by the Library of Congress.

Southern Humanities Review will award the first Auburn Witness Poetry Prize,
Honoring Jake Adam York in 2014.

Susan Aizenberg was a finalist for the 2013 Philip Levine Prize in Poetry.

L.S. Klatt has been named Poet Laureate of Grand Rapids, MI.

Michael Bazzett received the 2014 Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry. His collection, You Must Remember This, will be published by Milkweed Editions in 2014.

Traci Brimhall received the Jane Geske Award from Prairie Schooner.

Justin Torres received a 2013 grant from the National Endowment of the Arts.

Bob Hicok's collection, Elegy Owed (Copper Canyon Press, 2013), was a finalist for the National Book Critics’ Circle Award.

Jamaal May received a 2014–2016 Kenyon Review fellowship.

Scott Cairns was awarded the 2014 Denise Levertov Award.

Karin Gottshall won the 2014 OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Prize. Her collection, The River Won’t Hold You, will be published by The Ohio State University Press in 2014.

George Kalamaras was named Poet Laureate of Indiana.

Natalie Peeterse was awarded a 2013 Artist’s Innovation Award by the Montana Arts Council.

Caki Wilkinson won the 2013 Frost Farm Prize.

Caki Wilkinson received the 2013 Lexi Rudnitsky Editor’s Choice Award. Her collection, The Wynona Stone Poems, will be published by Persea Books in 2014.

R.T. Smith received the 2013 Carole Weinstein Prize in Poetry.

Denise Duhamel, Victoria Redel, and Paisley Rekdal were awarded 2014 fellowships from the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Hal Crowther’s essay, which first appeared in Blackbird’s v11n2, “Out of Date: the Joys of Obsolescence” won a 2014 Pushcart Prize.

Susan Elbe won the 2014 Julie Suk Prize for The Map of What Happened (The Backwaters Press, 2013).

Derrick Harriell won the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters’ 2014 Poetry Award for Ropes (Aquarius Press, 2013).

Lilah Hegnauer won the Hub City Press’ New Southern Voices Poetry Award for Pantry (Hub City Press, 2014).

John W. Evans received the 2013 Trio Award for a First or Second Book of Poetry for his poetry collection, The Consolations (Trio House Press, 2014).

John W. Evans won the 2013 River Teeth Nonfiction Prize for his nonfiction memoir, Young Widower (University of Nebraska Press, 2014).

Oliver Bendorf received a Vermont Studio Center Fellowship.

Jamaal May was nominated for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work–Poetry for his collection, Hum (Alice James Books, 2013).

Jesse Lee Kercheval was awarded the Edna Ferber Book-Length Fiction Award by the Council for Wisconsin Writers for her novel, My Life as a Silent Movie (Indiana University Press, 2013).

Brian Teare was a finalist for the 2014 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award.

Brian Teare is a finalist for a 2014 Lambda Literary Award for his collection, Companion Grasses (Omnidawn, 2013).

Recent Books by Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Dawn Lonsinger
Lost Horse Press

Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting: Poems
Kevin Powers
Little, Brown and Company

The Cabinetmaker’s Window
Steve Scafidi
Louisiana State University Press

The Consolations
John W. Evans
Trio House Press

How to Dance as the Roof Caves In: Poems
Nick Lantz
Graywolf Press

Young Widower
John W. Evans
University of Nebraska Press

The Boy in his Winter: An American Novel
Norman Lock
Bellevue Literary Press

Anne Germanacos
Rescue Press

A Kind of Dream: Stories
Kelly Cherry
University of Wisconsin Press

Jake Adam York
Southern Illinois University Press

Tarfia Faizullah
Southern Illinois University Press

A Sunny Place with Adequate Water
Mary Biddinger
Black Lawrence Press

Idiot Psalms: New Poems and Endless Life: Poems of the Mystics
Scott Cairns
Paraclete Press

Sun Bear
Matthew Zapruder
Copper Canyon Press

In the Night Orchard: New & Selected Poems
R.T. Smith
Texas Review Press

Kevin Prufer
Four Way Books

The Amputation Artist
Michael Broek
ELJ Publications

Out of Place
Richard Jackson
Ashland Poetry Press

From the Fire Hills
Chad Davidson
Southern Illinois University Press

Lilah Hegnauer
Hub City Press

The Theme of Tonight’s Party Has Been Changed
Dana Roeser
University of Massachusetts Press

Leon Weinmann
FutureCycle Press

Red Chameleon
Erica Wright
Pegasus Books

A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain
Adrianne Harun
Penguin Books

Reckless Lovely
Martha Silano
Saturnalia Books

Philip Gross
Bloodaxe Books Ltd.

This Coalition of Bones
Cori A. Winrock
Kore Press