blackbirdonline journalSpring 2010  Vol. 10  No. 1
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Index / Archives

Bookmark and Share Share

A joint venture of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University and New Virginia Review, Inc.


Recent Awards for Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Tomas Tranströmer received the 2011 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Philip Levine was named the Poet Laureate of the United States.

Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones (Bloomsbury USA, 2011) received the 2011 National Book Award in Fiction.

Khaled Mattawa received the 2010 Academy of American Poets Fellowship.

Chase Twichell’s Horses Where the Answers Should Have Been (Copper Canyon Press, 2010) received the Balcones Poetry Prize.

Christopher Burawa received the 2010 Joy Harjo Poetry Award from Cutthroat for “Agrimensura of the Mire: Árnessýsla.”

Traci Brimhall received the 2011 Barnard Women Poets Prize for Our Lady of the Ruins, which will be published by W. W. Norton and Co. in 2012, and a 2011–12 Emerging Writer Fellowship from the Writer’s Center.

Andrew Allport received the 2011 New Issues Poetry Prize from New Issues Poetry & Prose for the body | of space | in the shape of the human, which will be published by New Issues next spring.

Catherine MacDonald received the Miller Williams Poetry Prize for Rousing the Machinery, which will be published by University of Arkansas Press in 2012.

Alexander Long received the White Pine Press Poetry Prize for Still Live, which will be published by White Pine Press.

Patrick Lawler received the 2010 Ronald Sukenick American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize for Rescuers of Skydivers Search Among the Clouds, which will be published by Fiction Collective Two.

Elizabeth Alexander received the 2011 Paterson Poetry Prize for Crave Radiance: New and Selected Poems 1990–2010 (Graywolf Press, 2010).

Ruth Ellen Kocher received the 2010–2011 Dorset Prize by Tupelo Press for / domina Un/blued.

Malachi Black was named runner-up for the 2010–2011 Dorset Prize by Tupelo Press for Storm Toward Morning.

Bruce Bond received the 2011 New South Poetry Prize from New South for “Benthos.”

Beth Bachman received the 2011 Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award.

Elisabeth Murawski received Shenandoah’s Graybeal-Gowen Prize for Virginia Poets and the Phyllis Smart-Young Prize in Poetry from Madison Review.

Paula Bohince, Tarfia Faizullah, Joanna Pearson, Charles Jensen, Rachel Richardson, and Matthew Thorburn received Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes.

Spencer Reece and Paisley Rekdal both received the 2011–2012 Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship.

Kaled Mattawa was named a finalist for the Griffin Poetry Prize from Griffin Trust for his translation from the Arabic of Adonis’s Adonis: Selected Poems (Yale University Press, 2010).

Recent Books by Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Dhaka Dust
Dilruba Ahmed
Graywolf Press

Crave Radiance: New and Selected Poems 1990–2010
Elizabeth Alexander
Graywolf Press

The Black Ocean
Brian Barker
Southern Illinois University Press

Aspects of Robinson: Homage to Weldon Kees
ed. Christopher Buckley and Christopher Howell
The Backwaters Press

Midnight Lantern: New and Selected Poems
Tess Gallagher
Graywolf Press

Brian Henry
Ashanta Press

Mined Muzzle Velocity
Jennifer H. Fortin
Lowbrow Press

A Last Resort for Desperate People
Jeremy Griffin
Stephen F. Austin University Press

This Is Not Your City
Caitlin Horrocks
Sarabande Books

T. R. Hummer
LSU Press

Bone Fires
Mark Jarman
Sarabande Books

Miracle Day
Sebastian Matthews
Red Hen Press
forthcoming Spring 2012

The Goodbye Town
Timothy O’Keefe
Oberlin College Press

Gathering the Tide: An Anthology of Contemporary Arabian Gulf Poetry
ed. Patty Paine Gibbons, SamiaTouati Dietz, and Jeff Lodge
Ithaca Press

Hawks on Wires
Dave Smith
LSU Press

Fully Into Ashes
Sofia M. Starnes

Bohemian Girl
Terese Svoboda
Universtiy of Nebraska Press

The Least Cricket of Evening
Robert Vivian
University of Nebraska Press

The Family Fang
Kevin Wilson