blackbirdonline journalFall 2012 Vol. 11 No. 2
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Index / Archives

Bookmark and Share Share

A joint venture of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University and New Virginia Review, Inc.


Advisory Board
Katherine Bassard, English Department chair
Gregory Donovan, MFA director of creative writing
David Wojahn, MFA faculty representative

Josh Eckhardt, faculty representative
Gretchen Soderlund, faculty representative
Ann Reinke, New Virginia Review representative
Gregory Donovan, senior editor
Mary Flinn, senior editor
M.A. Keller, senior online editor
Patrick Scott Vickers, online editor

Arts Advisory Board
Kendall Buster, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
Tosha Grantham, VMFA
Ray Kass, Department of Art and Art History, Emeritus, Virginia Tech
Elizabeth King, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
Ashley Kistler, Anderson Gallery, Virginia Commonwealth University
Paul Monroe, Independent Art Collector, Richmond, Virginia
Carlton Newton, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
John Ravenal, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, VMFA
Beverly Reynolds, The Reynolds Gallery, Richmond, Virginia
Howard Risatti, Department of Crafts, Emeritus, Virginia Commonwealth University
Richard Roth, Department of Painting and Printmaking, Virginia Commonwealth

Virginia Commonwealth University, Michael Rao, President
The College of Humanities & Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University,
   Jim Coleman, Dean
The Virginia Commission for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts

Friends and Partners
Visual Arts Center of Richmond (formerly the Hand Workshop Art Center)
Main Art Supply & Framing

Theatre IV

Special thanks to Ronnie Sampson and Nancy Martin of Viridian for the original logo and site design. Thanks to Stella Reinhard for the 2008 reworked logo as it now appears on items for sale at Cafe Press. And finally, to Patrick Vickers, Ryan Cales, Greg Krull, and Bri Spicer, our thanks for design variations in conversation with both logos above. Special thanks to Bri Spicer for her work on the logo and for her design of the 10th anniversary logo.

Technology Support, Virginia Commonwealth University
Humanities and Sciences Technology Services
John Skaritza, John Seo, Mike Dunham, Ramont Reed, James Archer, & student staff.

Virginia Commonwealth University Technology Services
especially the help provided by John Sullivan in support of the Blackbird Submission Manager software.

New Virginia Review, Inc., extends particular thanks to Carole Weinstein, The Virginia Commission for the Arts, supported by the National Endowment for the Arts, the Seay Foundation, CultureWorks, and the Richmond Arts and Culture Funding Consortium, supported by the City of Richmond and the Counties of Henrico and Hanover, whose kindness makes our participation in Blackbird possible.