blackbird online journal spring 2002 vol.1 no. 1
poetry gallery features


A joint venture of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University and New Virginia Review, Inc.


Subscribe to our
free newsletter for Blackbird news and updates.



Advisory Board
Marcel Cornis-Pope, English Department chair
Laura Browder, director of creative writing
Gregory Donovan, editor-in-chief, vol. 1, no. 1
Mary Flinn, co-editor
William Tester, co-editor
Michael Keller, managing online editor
Jeff Lodge, managing online editor
Robin Austin, New Virginia Review representative
Tom De Haven, MFA faculty representative
Gary Sange, MFA faculty representative
Elizabeth Cooper, English Department representative
Bryan Whitfield, New Virginia Review representative
Ann Woodlief, English Department representative

Virginia Commonwealth University, Eugene P. Trani, President
The College of Humanities & Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University,
   Stephen D. Gottfredson, Dean
The Virginia Commission for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts

Special thanks to Ronnie Sampson and Nancy Martin of Viridian

Technical Support
Humanities and Sciences Computing Services
  Jim Spivey
  Mike Dunham
  John Seo
  Stuart Long

VCU School of Mass Communications
  Terry Oggel
  John Geerdes

Office of Information Technology
  John Noble
  John Sullivan
  Jim Toth
  Jim Bostick
  Jim Yucha

New Virginia Review, Inc., extends particular thanks to the following corporations, foundations, agencies, groups, and individuals whose kindness makes our participation in Blackbird possible.

Corporations, Foundations, and Governments
The Bank of America Foundation
The Circuit City Foundation
CSX Corporation
Dominion Resources, Inc.
A.G. Edwards and Sons, Inc.
The Fountain Bookstore
Hunton and Williams
KPMG Peat, Marwick LLP
McGuire, Woods, Battle and Boothe
The Media General Foundation
Owens and Minor, Inc.
The Richmond Arts and Cultural Consortium, supported by the City of Richmond and
    the Counties of Henrico and Hanover
Robertshaw Controls Company Foundation
Suntrust MidAtlantic Flundation
Trammell Crow
Trigon Insurance Company
The Virginia Commission for the Arts supported by the National Endowment for the

Ms. Robin Austin
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Awad
Mr. Robert Axelrod and Ms. Christy Wise
Mrs. Mary Baril
Mr. Peter Blake and Ms. Mary Blanchard
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis T. Booker
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Bosher
Mrs. Verdelle Bradley
Mr. and Mrs. Evans Brasfield
Mr. and Mrs. J. Stewart Bryan
Mr. and Mrs. R.H. Bunzl
Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Burrus, Jr.
Judge and Mrs. John Butzner, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Drew St. John Carneal
Dr. Waverly Cole
Mrs. Henry A. Converse
Mr. and Mrs. Clifford A. Cutchins, IV
Mr. Richard Dilworth
Mr. and Mrs. James Doherty
Mrs. Alan S. Donnhoe
Mr. and Mrs. Holt Edmunds
Mr. and Mrs. A. Hugh Ewing, Jr.
Dr. Samuel Fager
Ms. Kathryn Fessler
Mr. and Mrs. J. Carter Fox
Mrs. A. Paul Funkhouser
Mr. and Mrs. Fleetwood Garner
Mrs. George D. Gibson
Mr. and Mrs. Bradley Gunter
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert L. Heltzer
Mr. John Herrington
Mr. Harrison Higgins
Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Hill
Mr. John Hoppenthaler
The Robert L. Huffines, Jr. Foundation
Mrs. Irving Joel
Ms. Champ Johnson
Dr. and Mrs. E.L. Kendig
Mrs. Anna Logan Lawson
The Sydney and Frances Lewis
The Linhart Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Richard Lower
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen H. Martin
Dr. and Mrs. William Martin


Mr. and Mrs. E. Morgan Massey
Mr. Ivor Massey, Jr.
Mr. Michael W. Maupin and Ms. Virginia
   W. Powell
Dr. and Mrs. Read F. McGehee
Mr. and Mrs. George McVey
Mrs. Anne F. Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Thurston Moore
Ms. Elizabeth S. Morgan
Mr. Gerald Morgan
Drs. Jean and Charles Mosee
Dr. and Mrs. Samuel W. Newell, Jr.
Mrs. Charles Noell
Dr. and Mrs. William C. Oppenhimer
Mr. and Mrs. Rosewell Page
Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Pauley
Mr. and Mrs. C.D.L. Perkins
Mr. and Mrs. David Reynolds
Mrs. Richard S. Reynolds, Jr.
Christine and Howard Risatti
Mr. and Mrs. John W. Roberts
Dr. and Mrs. Frank Royal
Mr. and Mrs. C. Edward Russell
Mrs. A.T. Sanders
Mrs. Elizabeth G. Schneider
Mr. and Mrs. S. Buford Scott
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Sharp
Mr. James Simmerman
Mr. and Mrs. Ron Smith
Mrs. Sydna Street
Mr. and Mrs. J.E.B. Stuart, IV
Mr. and Mrs. James F. Stutts
Mr. and Mrs. Raymond P. Szabo
Dr. and Mrs. Armistead Talman
Ms. Margaret Tinsley
Mr. Richard Toscan and Ms. Sharon
Mr. and Mrs. E. Massie Valentine
Mr. Ed Vasaio
Mr. and Mrs. Needham B. Whitfield
Ms. Susan Williams
Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Williams
Miss Isabella G. Witt
Dr. and Mrs. Robert C. Woods