blackbird online journal Spring 2008  Vol. 7  No. 1
poetry gallery features

A joint venture of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University and New Virginia Review, Inc.


Subscribe to our
free newsletter for Blackbird news and updates.


Advisory Board
Terry Oggel, English Department chair
David Wojahn, MFA director of creative writing
Susann Cokal, MFA faculty representative
Clint McCown, MFA faculty representative

Josh Eckhardt, faculty representative
Gretchen Soderlund, faculty representative
Robin Austin, New Virginia Review representative
Bryan Whitfield, New Virginia Review representative
Gregory Donovan, senior literary editor
Mary Flinn, senior literary editor
Michael Keller, senior online editor
Patrick Vickers, online editor

Arts Advisory Board
Kendall Buster, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
Susan Ewing, Board of Trustees, New Virginia Review, Inc.
Tosha Grantham, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond, Virginia
Ray Kass, Department of Art and Art History, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
   and State University
Elizabeth King, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
Ashley Kistler, Visual Arts Center, Richmond, Virginia
Paul Monroe, Independent Art Collector, Richmond, Virginia
Carlton Newton, Department of Sculpture, Virginia Commonwealth University
John Ravenal, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Virginia Museum of
   Fine Arts, Richmond, Virginia
Beverly Reynolds, The Reynolds Gallery, Richmond, Virginia
Howard Risatti, Department of Crafts, Virginia Commonwealth University
Richard Roth, Department of Painting and Printmaking, Virginia Commonwealth
Joe Seipel, School of the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University

New Virginia Review, Inc. particularly expresses its thanks to the ArtsFund. Affiliate support provided by the ArtsFund helps make programs like Blackbird possible.

Platinum Founders:
LandAmerica Financial Group, Inc.; Philip Morris USA; Wachovia Foundation

Bank of America; BB&T/Scott & Stringfellow; Carter Ryley Thomas; Markel Corporation; McGuireWoods LLP; Performance Food Group; SunTrust Bank; Troutman Sanders LLP; Ukrop’s Super Markets and First Market Bank; Wachovia Foundation/Wachovia Securities

Additional support is provided by The Community Foundation Serving Richmond & Central Virginia and by the E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Foundation.

Virginia Commonwealth University, Eugene P. Trani, President
The College of Humanities & Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University,
   Fred Hawdridge, Dean
The Virginia Commission for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts

Friends and Partners
Visual Arts Center of Richmond (formerly the Hand Workshop Art Center)
Main Art Supply & Framing

Theatre IV

Special thanks to Ronnie Sampson and Nancy Martin of Viridian for the orginal logo and site design. Thanks to Stella Reinhard for the reworked logo as it now appears on items for sale at Cafe Press.

Technology Support, Virginia Commonwealth University
Humanities and Sciences Technology Services
Virginia Commonwealth University Technology Services

New Virginia Review, Inc., extends particular thanks to the following corporations, foundations, agencies, groups, and individuals whose kindness makes our participation in Blackbird possible.

Corporations, Foundations, and Governments
The Bank of America Foundation
The Circuit City Foundation
CSX Corporation
Dominion Resources, Inc.
A.G. Edwards and Sons, Inc.
The Fountain Bookstore
Hunton and Williams
KPMG Peat, Marwick LLP
McGuire, Woods, Battle and Boothe
The Media General Foundation
Owens and Minor, Inc.
The Richmond Arts and Cultural Consortium,
   supported by the City of Richmond and the Counties of Henrico and Hanover
Robertshaw Controls Company Foundation
Suntrust MidAtlantic Flundation
Trammell Crow
Trigon Insurance Company
The Virginia Commission for the Arts,
   supported by the National Endowment for the Arts

Ms. Robin Austin
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Awad
Mr. Robert Axelrod and Ms. Christy Wise
Mrs. Mary Baril
Mr. Peter Blake and Ms. Mary Blanchard
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis T. Booker
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Bosher
Mrs. Verdelle Bradley
Mr. and Mrs. Evans Brasfield
Mr. and Mrs. J. Stewart Bryan
Mr. and Mrs. R.H. Bunzl
Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Burrus, Jr.
Judge and Mrs. John Butzner, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Drew St. John Carneal
Dr. Waverly Cole
Mrs. Henry A. Converse
Mr. and Mrs. Clifford A. Cutchins, IV
Mr. Richard Dilworth
Mr. and Mrs. James Doherty
Mrs. Alan S. Donnhoe
Mr. and Mrs. Holt Edmunds
Mr. and Mrs. A. Hugh Ewing, Jr.
Dr. Samuel Fager
Ms. Kathryn Fessler
Mr. and Mrs. J. Carter Fox
Mrs. A. Paul Funkhouser
Mr. and Mrs. Fleetwood Garner
Mrs. George D. Gibson
Mr. and Mrs. Bradley Gunter
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert L. Heltzer
Mr. John Herrington
Mr. Harrison Higgins
Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Hill
Mr. John Hoppenthaler
The Robert L. Huffines, Jr. Foundation
Mrs. Irving Joel
Ms. Champ Johnson
Dr. and Mrs. E.L. Kendig
Mrs. Anna Logan Lawson
The Sydney and Frances Lewis
The Linhart Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Richard Lower
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen H. Martin
Dr. and Mrs. William Martin


Mr. and Mrs. E. Morgan Massey
Mr. Ivor Massey, Jr.
Mr. Michael W. Maupin and Ms. Virginia
   W. Powell
Dr. and Mrs. Read F. McGehee
Mr. and Mrs. George McVey
Mrs. Anne F. Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Thurston Moore
Ms. Elizabeth S. Morgan
Mr. Gerald Morgan
Drs. Jean and Charles Mosee
Dr. and Mrs. Samuel W. Newell, Jr.
Mrs. Charles Noell
Dr. and Mrs. William C. Oppenhimer
Mr. and Mrs. Rosewell Page
Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Pauley
Mr. and Mrs. C.D.L. Perkins
Mr. and Mrs. David Reynolds
Mrs. Richard S. Reynolds, Jr.
Christine and Howard Risatti
Mr. and Mrs. John W. Roberts
Dr. and Mrs. Frank Royal
Mr. and Mrs. C. Edward Russell
Mrs. A.T. Sanders
Mrs. Elizabeth G. Schneider
Mr. and Mrs. S. Buford Scott
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Sharp
Mr. James Simmerman
Mr. and Mrs. Ron Smith
Mrs. Sydna Street
Mr. and Mrs. J.E.B. Stuart, IV
Mr. and Mrs. James F. Stutts
Mr. and Mrs. Raymond P. Szabo
Dr. and Mrs. Armistead Talman
Ms. Margaret Tinsley
Mr. Richard Toscan and Ms. Sharon
Mr. and Mrs. E. Massie Valentine
Mr. Ed Vasaio
Mr. and Mrs. Needham B. Whitfield
Ms. Susan Williams
Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Williams
Miss Isabella G. Witt
Dr. and Mrs. Robert C. Woods


return to top