blackbirdan online journal of literature and the artsFall 2019  Vol. 18 No. 2
an online journal of literature and the arts
Ellen Bryant Voigt

   Voices of 1918 Program Notes
by Kenneth Langer
   Voices of 1918  
   music by Kenneth Langer
   text by Ellen Bryant Voigt (Kyrie)

   1918 Suite: Enough of Us Still and Brave Enough  

Ellen Bryant Voigt is the author of eight collections of poetry, including Headwaters (2013); Messenger: New and Selected Poems 1976–2006 (2007), winner of the 2009 Poets’ Prize and a finalist for both the 2007 National Book Award in poetry and the 2008 Pulitzer Prize; Shadow of Heaven (2002), a National Book Award finalist; and Kyrie (1995), a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist; all from W.W. Norton & Company. Voigt is also the author of two books on craft, The Art of Syntax (Graywolf, 2009) and The Flexible Lyric (University of Georgia Press, 1999). She is the recipient of the 2002 O.B. Hardison Jr. Poetry Prize from the Folger Shakespeare Library, and the 2001 Fellowship from the Academy of American Poets, where she was a chancellor from 2003–2009. She is a member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers.  end