blackbird spring 2002 vol.1 no. 1



   Drifting Boat
   Fox Fire at the Changing Tree
   Next Morning Letter
   Summer Birds and Flowers
   A Reading by Margaret Gibson

Margaret Gibson is the author of seven books of poetry: Icon and Evidence (2001); Earth Elegy, New and Selected Poems (1997); The Vigil, A Poem in Four Voices, a Finalist for the National Book Award in 1993; Out in the Open (1989); Memories of the Future, The Daybooks of Tina Modotti, co-winner of the Melville Cane Award of the Poetry Society of America in 1986-87; Long Walks in the Afternoon, the 1982 Lamont Selection of the Academy of American Poets; and Signs (1979). Gibson has been a Visiting Professor at The University of Connecticut since 1993. She has been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Grant, a Lila Wallace/Readerís Digest Fellowship, and Grants from the Connecticut Commission on the Arts. "Earth Elegy," the title poem of New and Selected Poems, won The James Boatwright III Prize for Poetry. "Archaeology" was awarded a Pushcart Prize in 2001. Autumn Grasses will be published by LSU Press in 2003. Gibson lives in Preston, Connecticut.  

Photo by Christina Galesi